Evocation by S. T. Gibson

Rating: 2.5 out of 5.

2.75 stars

After reading S. T. Gibson’s third book, I’ve found they are definitely hit or miss on whether I’m going to enjoy the story. I liked A Dowry of Blood but couldn’t finish An Education in Malice. Evocation fell more in the middle of those two. I like Gibson’s writing style but the storyline was a bit dull.

The main focus of the story was fixing the relationship between David and Rhys while also forming a non-sexual relationship between Moira and David. This is the start of a polyamorous relationship and I like how Gibson explored it.

Unfortunately, the magic and demon possession really took a backseat, and that’s where I wanted more. I wanted more exploration of the witches and the summonings. I was so interested in the idea of a Chaos Magician, but it was so briefly mentioned that I still am vague on the details. The relationship between David, Rhys, and Moira was the focus. For some people, that will be enough, but I was interested in this book because of the “deal with the devil” aspect.

Thanks to NetGalley and Angry Robot for the ARC.

Leave a comment